top of page

About SLBF

Sri Lanka Basketball Federation (SLBF) is registered under the Sports Law No: 25th of 1973 and  is affiliated to Fédération Internationale de Basketball Amateur (FIBA), FIBA ASIA and National Olympic Committee of Sri Lanka. 

Objectives of SLBF


  • To control, standardize, promote, develop and improve amateur basketball.

  • To encourage the formation of provincial and other Basketball Associations.

  • To protect and promote the spirit of amateurism and sportsmanship in Basketball.

  • To uphold, maintain and publish the Rules of Basketball as adopted by the FIBA and to frame and uphold the by-laws of the Federation and other such rules as may be found necessary in Sri Lanka.

SLBF affiliated Associations


Western - Colombo, Gampaha​​, Kalutara 

Central - Kandy, Matale
Eastern - Batticaloa, Trincomalee
North Central - Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa,
Northern - Jaffna, Mannar
North Western - Kurunegala, Puttalam
Sabaragamuwa. Kegalle, Ratnapura,
Southern - Galle, Hambantota, Matara
Uva - Badulla


Other - SL Army, SL Navy, SL Airforce, SL Police, Mercantile Services, Combined Universities, SL Schools

Office 2020/2024

Patron : Hon. Namal Rajapaksa, Minister of Youth & Sports



Secretary General : WG CDR (Rtd) Chandana Liyanage

Senior Vice President : Paul Newman

Vice Presidents : Sanath Jayalath, Hashendra Fernando, Dr. Samantha Nanayakkara, Dr. Gehan De Soysa, Ajith Jeyakumar,

                            Thilina Gunarathne

Treasurer : Thushara Suraweera

Key Milestones

1917 - Basketball was introduced to Sri Lanka by Walter Cammak, an American who was the Director of Physical Education of the Central YMCA in Colombo.

1927 - The first school to introduce basketball was Ananda College Colombo.

1936 - Japanese and Filipino Olympic teams played in Sri Lanka.  This was the first time two international teams played in Sri Lanka. 


1950 - November 1950, the Ceylon Basketball Association was formed. Mr. John Exter, the Governor of the Central Bank, as President.

1958 - Inauguration of the Ceylon Basketball Federation (CBF).

1959 - CBF became a member of FIBA. Sri Lanka staged its first international contest against the Pakistan National Team. 


1960 - The first National championship was held.

1961 - Women’s basketball was introduced.

1962 - Became a member of the Asian Basketball Confederation (ABC)


1964 - First international competition was organised by SLBF, India, Iran, Pakistan and Sri Lanka as participants.

1966 - Sri Lanka took part in 5th Asian Games its first International tournament in Bangkok Thailand.

1967 - Mini-basketball was introduced 


1991 - Sri Lanka men wins Bronze in South Asian Games 

2016 - Sri Lanka wins Gold in the Inaugural South Asian Basketball Championship for Women.

bottom of page